Home\About Us\Members\ Biographical Sketch - Sisko Salomaa
Dr. Sisko Salomaa

Professor Dr. Sisko Salomaa

Dr. Sisko Salomaa is professor of radiobiology at University of Eastern Finland since 2016. She was Research Director of the Radiation and Nuclear Safety Authority in Finland (STUK) 1997-2015, after which she has coordinated the National Programme for Radiation Safety Research. She has also been Docent (Adjunct Professor) of genetics at the University of Helsinki since 1990.

Dr. Salomaa graduated from the University of Helsinki in 1983 (MSc, genetics), received her LicSc (genetics) in 1984, and a PhD degree (genetics) in 1987.

During the years 1981-1986 she worked at the Institute of Occupational Health, where she carried out research related to genetic toxicology.

In 1987, she joined STUK as a scientist and later, in 1992, as Director of the Laboratory for Biodosimetry.

Dr. Salomaa has been involved in several EU and other international research projects related to radiation effects, genomic instability, non-targeted effects and low dose risk. She participated in the High Level Expert Group on European Low Dose Risk Research, and is a member of the Governing Board of MELODI (Multidisciplinary European Low Dose Initiative).

Since 2009, she has been a member of Committee 1 of the International Commission on Radiation Protection (ICRP). She was member of the OECD/NEA Committee for Radiation Protection and Public Health 2009-2015.

She has been elected member of the Executive Council of the International Radiation Protection Association (IRPA) for the period 2004 to 2012.

She has served as adviser to the IAEA, as a member of its Standing Advisory Group on Nuclear Applications (SAGNA), and to the European Commission as member of the Article 31 Group.

Dr. Salomaa has received the Bacq and Alexander Award by the European Radiation Research Society in 2009 and IRPA Outstanding Service Award in 2013. She is member of the Advisory Board of International Journal of Radiation Biology since 2017.

Dr. Salomaa has been representative of Finland to UNSCEAR since its fifty-ninth session in 2012.

Last updated: Wednesday, 14 October 2020