Biographies of Representatives and Alternates

alt text is missing



alt text is missing

Sarah Baatout (Rapporteur)

Dr. Sarah Baatout is head of the radiobiology unit at the Belgian Nuclear Research Centre (SCKā€¢CEN) in Mol, Belgium. The unit evaluates the potential risks of ionizing radiation on health and conducts radiation risk assessments for occupational, accidental, medical, or space radiation exposure through high throughput molecular and cellular technologies. The work is performed in close collaboration with the European Commission, the European Space Agency, Belgian and European Universities as well as hospitals and research institutes.

Dr. Baatout graduated in biology in 1990 from the Catholic University of Louvain, Belgium, and then received a PhD in biochemistry (field: oncology). She is a guest-professor in radiation protection, radiobiology and space biology in 3 Belgian Universities (Ghent, Namur, Leuven).

In 2018, Dr. Baatout received the BeSpace personality of the year award and was recognized by Femmes d'Aujourdhui as one of the 85 women that make Belgium move. She went in winter 2017-2018 to the Belgian Princess Elisabeth station in Antarctica to conduct space-related health studies in extreme environment.

Dr. Baatout is member of the ionizing radiation section of the High Council for Health, Secretary-treasurer of the European Radiation Research Society and chair of the Belgian Hadrontherapy Consortium.

Dr. Baatout has been member of the Belgian delegation since the sixty session in 2013 and alternate representative for the sixty-fifth to the sixty-eighth sessions. She is the representative of Belgium to UNSCEAR since the 69th session in 2022.

Alternate Representative

alt text is missing

Geert Biermans

Dr. Geert Biermans is Head of the Environment and Emergency Preparedness section at the Federal Agency for Nuclear Control (FANC) in Belgium since 2019.

Dr. Biermans graduated from the University of Antwerp with a MSc in Cell and Systems Biology in 2009. He holds a PhD from the Belgian Centre for Nuclear Research (SCK CEN) and Hasselt on the physiological effects of radiation in plants in 2013. In 2009, he joined FANC as expert in natural radiation, NORM and legacy sites.

Since 2020, Dr. Biermans has been member of the Group of Experts for Article 37 of the Euratom Treaty.

Dr. Biermans has been member for the Belgian delegation to UNSCEAR since the 69th session and its alternate representative for the 70th UNSCEAR session.