Biographies of Representatives and Alternates

alt text is missing



alt text is missing

Anssi Auvinen (Vice-Chair of the Committee)

Dr. Anssi Auvinen is head of the department of Epidemiology, University of Tampere, Tampere, Finland; and research professor at the Finnish Radiation and Nuclear Safety Authorityi (STUK).

He obtained an MD in 1989 and a PhD in epidemiology in 1997, both from the University of Tampere, Finland.

Dr. Auvinen has been Professor of epidemiology, School of Heath Sciences, University of Tampere since 2000, and scientist/senior scientist/research professor at STUK since 1990. He was also visiting professor at Erasmus University, Rotterdam (2014); visiting senior scientist at the International Agency for Research on Cancer (2011-2012), and research professor at the Finnish Cancer Institute (2005-2008).

His research interest and areas of expertise are cancer epidemiology, radiation epidemiology, health effects of ionizing and non-ionizing radiation, and cancer screening.

Dr. Auvinen has been invited expert at the International Commission on Non-Ionizing Radiation Protection since 2013; invited expert at the WHO Working Group on Health Assessment of the Fukushima Daiichi Nuclear Power Plant Accident (2011-2013), expert at the European Code Against Cancer, Working Group on Radiation (2012-2013), invited expert at the WHO Research Priorities in Radiofrequency Fields Task Force (2010); member of the Scientific Committee for Emerging and Newly Identified Health Risks (SCENIHR) for the European Commission (2009-2012) (chair of the Working Group on X-ray Security Scanners, member of Working Groups on Electromagnetic Fields (2009-2010 and 2012-2013), member of the Weight of Evidence Working Group (2009-2010) and Improvements in Risk Assessment Working Group 2009-2010, as well as member of EMF Stakeholder Dialogue Group (2011). Furthermore, he has been member of the editorial board of the Scandinavian Journal of Occupational and Environmental Health since 2010.

Dr. Auvinen has been a member of the Finnish delegation to UNSCEAR since 2013 and is its representative since 2021.

Alternate Representative

alt text is missing

Teemu Siiskonen