Biographies of Representatives and Alternates

alt text is missing



alt text is missing

Reiko Kanda

Dr. Reiko Kanda is Director General of National Institute of Radiological Sciences, National Institutes for Quantum Science and Technology (QST), Japan, since 2023. Her research interest and areas of expertise are radiation-induced chromosome aberrations, health effects of radiation and dose estimation.

Dr. Kanda holds a PhD and graduated in Zoology from the University of Tokyo.

Dr. Kanda is the chairperson of Section II (life sciences) of the Science Council of Japan (2023-present) and the vice-chair of Committee on Radiological Protection and Public Health (CRPPH) of OECD/NEA since 2022.

Dr. Kanda has been a member of Japanese delegation to UNSCEAR(2017-2018), the alternate representative (2019-2022) and is the representative since the 70th session in 2023.

Alternate Representatives

alt text is missing

Kotaro Ozasa

Dr. Kotaro Ozasa is specially appointed professor of the Kyoto Prefectural University of Medicine (KPUM) for health management, and also working on epidemiological aspects of radiation effects. He was the Chief of Department of Epidemiology, Radiation Effects Research Foundation, Hiroshima and Nagasaki, Japan, during 2008-2022, working on epidemiology studies of the survivors of the atomic bombing and their children. He graduated from KPUM and obtained an MD in 1981 and a PhD for social medicine in 1989. He worked at the KPUM in his major specialties of cancer epidemiology and public health.

Dr. Ozasa is member of Committee 1 of the International Commission on Radiological Protection for the terms of 2017 to 2025.

Dr. Ozasa joined Japanese delegation to UNSCEAR in 2013 and became its alternate representative since the sixty-sixth session in 2019. Further, he was a member of Japanese Working Group of UNSCEAR Fukushima Follow-up Project (2014-2021).