Biographies of Representatives and Alternates

alt text is missing



alt text is missing

Anja Almen

Dr. Anja Almén is a Senior Specialist at the Swedish Radiation Safety Authority (SSM). She graduated from Lund University receiving an MSc in Radiation Physics and further on a PhD in Medical Radiation Physics.

Dr. Almén is an Associate Professor of Medical Radiation Physics at Lund University in Sweden. She has been involved in European research projects and other projects concerning radiation protection.

Dr. Almén has worked in several positions at SSI/SSM including section head and scientific secretary. Her work carrier also includes different positions as a medical physicist and radiation protection expert in the medical sector.

Dr. Almén has been an adviser to the Swedish delegation to UNSCEAR on several occasions and the alternate representative of Sweden since the 67th session in 2020. She is the representative of Sweden to UNSCEAR for its 70th session in 2023.

Alternate representative

alt text is missing

Eva Forssell-Aronsson

Dr. Eva Forssell-Aronsson is Professor of radiation physics at the Institute of Clinical Sciences, Sahlgrenska Academy at University of Gothenburg, Sweden combined with the position of senior medical physicist at Sahlgrenska University Hospital.

Dr. Forssell-Aronsson graduated from Chalmers University of Technology with a MSc degree in engineering physics and a MSc and PhD in medical radiation physics from University of Gothenburg. After some years working in nuclear medicine and magnetic resonance imaging at the Sahlgrenska University Hospital, she was appointed senior lecturer at University of Gothenburg and started a research group on radionuclide therapy and radiobiology, together with research on magnetic resonance technique.

Dr. Forssell-Aronsson has been involved in several European research projects and is member since 2013 of the Scientific committee of MELODI (Multidisciplinary European Low Dose Initiative), which is a European platform dedicated to low dose. She is member since 2006 and chairman since 2009 of the National Committee on Radiation Protection Research of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences. She is also member of the Royal Swedish Academy of Engineering Sciences, and member of the Royal Society of Arts and Sciences in Gothenburg. She has been member of the research board of Swedish Radiation Protection Institute/Swedish Radiation Safety Authority 2003-2014 (chairman 2005-2008).

Dr. Forssell-Aronsson has been member of the Swedish delegation since the sixty-third session in 2016 and alternate representative of Sweden between 2017 and 2019. She has been the representative of Sweden from 67th-69th sessions (2020-2022) and is the alternate representative for the 70th session in 2023.